Skip navigation

In considering my response to The Strange Death of Europe by Douglas Murray I’ve been participating in some Implicit Association Tests.  Project Implicit is a non-profit organization and international collaboration between researchers who are interested in implicit social cognition – thoughts and feelings outside of conscious awareness and control.

photo

The Implicit Association Test (IAT) measures attitudes and beliefs that people may be unwilling or unable to report.

Among the various tests that I have taken I’m really surprised by this result.  I was encouraged by my scientist father to study Geology.   I have always loved this subject and still do.  My understanding of science is that it is the closest thing that we have to the absolute truth.  It was quite a shock to discover than many people do not share this point of view.

Is my strong automatic association for Male with Sciences and Female with Liberal Arts due to nature or nurture?

 

Leave a Reply

