Skip navigation

My copy of Picturing the Cosmos: Hubble Space Telescope Images and the Astronomical Sublime by Elizabeth A. Kessler has arrived so I’ve just had a quick look at it…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….. Now – having read Picturing the Cosmos I found it to be a mainly a description of how astronomical images are compiled rather than why they are compiled in that way. Fenella Saunders of American Scientist reviews Picturing the Cosmos: Hubble Space Telescope Images and the Astronomical Sublime HERE. I think the Hubble Telescope Images are produced purely for advertising purposes and you would not see the objects portrayed by the images because the electomagnetic spectrum portrayed has been broadened to include wavelengths that the human eye cannot perceive. Also, the colours do not mesh with human perception. In the Hubble Telescope Images blue is often used to portray ‘hot’ areas with red for ‘cold’ areas. In fact the different colours are chosen for different purposes which is explained on the Hubble site.

I’ve stopped working on the Eskimo nebula painting, I need to leave it for the paint to dry and to give it a final appraisal in due course.

I’ve realized that my first ‘astronomical painting’ “It’s almost certainly a star” needs more work. I also need to remember to date my pictures.

Using a Mahl Stick (arm crutch) is very helpful!

Leave a Reply

